Why are We Silent?

It’s as if it is taboo to speak, or even think about it. If it’s mentioned, it is as if it’s an urban myth. If it happens to you, and you try to tell others about it, either you are not believed, or you’re told that it is your fault. Sometimes, you’re even told that it is your imagination, or you have misinterpreted things.

Have you figured out what I am talking about yet? Oh, you need more hints? OK, let’s try this one.  You trusted someone that you’ve known for awhile. They’re suppose to be your friend, yet when you trusted them to take care of you the most, they stole from you. They took away the thing you valued the most from you.

Did you get it? Well if not, I’m telling you because it’s something I want to talk about. Sexual assault.  Rape.

Yes, as I said, something taboo. It’s a very hush hush, don’t talk about it subject, but here’s the thing, it should be talked about. We should be shouting about it at the top of our lungs, screaming about it where ever we go. Yes, we need to discuss this.

Most people seem to have a see no, hear no, speak no evil attitude about this subject. Here is what I think though. We need to be talking about this, sharing our stories, supporting one another.  Why? Because just as there are the silent killers of cancer, this is a silent killer as well. It eats away at you, tears you down, make you feel as if you are nothing, worse than nothing.  When no one believes you, no one wants to back you up or listen to you, it makes you feel as if you are wrong, that it never happened. When you keep feeling like this, it destroys you. Eats up from the inside out until you are nothing but a shell, and then barely even that. With this going on, it makes you feel like nothing. That is where you are wrong. I know I have been wrong. I have to keep telling myself that I am someone. That even if no one else cares about me, I do. I care about me. I’m important.

What I want to do, is talk about this subject as much as I can. Rape and Sexual Assault are real. They happen.  No matter what, you are not to blame. There are others that have been there. Tell others your experiences. Share what has happened. The more you talk about it, the better you will feel, you know it is real, that you didn’t make this up.  And the more you share, you never know the affect that you will have on others.  While helping yourself, you can help others too. I know that this is helping me.

I want to help you while I help myself. Tell others. Please.

Leave a Reply

