These are a few

Of My Favorite Things!

Ok so the song was in my head for some random reason that I have yet to come across, but then that’s how most of my mind is. I pity the person that tries to understand, or make sense of it because it’s a giant maze of puzzles. Anyways, that song had me thinking, I need to spend a few moments being positive. That moment is now and I chose to spend that moment talking about what has made me happy in the past few days. Something to think of other than what’s been pulling me into this black hole of depression. So let’s get going!

Tea Time!

Tea.  My happy relaxer. I love teas, but mainly black teas. Irish and English Breakfast, Black Dragon, and even other random ones. So when I feel I’m beyond anxious, or like the past week, a headache/migraine that won’t go away, I pull out my caffeine molecule mug, my Death Star Tea Infuser and let the brewing start. Something about it is the best feeling to come over me, you can almost feel the worst part of the day or moment falling away.

Music. I love music. And I always end up finding songs that fit whatever I am feeling or seem to be going through at the moment. (Multiple pieces of evidence in previous posts.) Today I heard Dog Days Are Over by Florence + The Machine. It was what I was starting to feel as I decided to start this post. How could you not agree with this?

                                                   ” Happiness hit her like a train on a track
Coming towards her stuck still no turning back
She hid around corners and she hid under beds
She killed it with kisses and from it she fled
With every bubble she sank with her drink
And washed it away down the kitchen sink “

And…

“Happiness hit her like a bullet in the back
Struck from a great height by someone who should know better than that”

How could you not relate to that? Yes, I have not been feeling happy, still not there, but today I made my tea, sat down and had a sip, and was like “Wow. Everything feels a little better now.” And then the song started, and it all just fit together. I grinned. Can you believe it!? I actually grinned today, and it was forced or faked for a customer. Where did that come from?

Art. Art lets me be myself without anyone telling I cannot be who I am. Granted I have not had as much time to devote to my art work as I want lately, but guess what? It still relaxes me. I get itches I cannot scratch unless I can put ideas down on paper. When I start on a sketch or drawing I can lose myself. I can go into my own rabbit hole of creativity and let loose and be who I am and express myself and not have a worry in the world, except if my pencil broke, or I cannot find my eraser. That always annoys me. Means I have to stop and grumble to myself until I find it.

My pets. Yes, they make me feel so much better. I wrote about the one, my hero. He is the sweetest of the animals, but the other 2 are close behind him. I have a chinchilla named Finneghan, yes, he is from South America and has an Irish name, but Finn fits him. So much personality. Again a rescue animal with quirks. One, he is blind in one eye, but doesn’t let him slow down at all. High strung and energy for days. He gets his freedom each night to run around, and he chooses to spend that time with the black dog. They get along swimmingly. The lone ranger of that group is the other dog. Independent beyond your imagination and the jealous attention hog, but sweet when she wants to be. No matter how I’m feeling, they can make me feel calmer and feel like the weight of the world is gone for those few moments of playing with them, or telling them about my day, both the highs and lows, and sometimes I’ll reread what I’m posting to them to see if they agree. Ok, sometimes it seems like they do, DON’T JUDGE! They’re semi good critics. They let me know if they do not agree. (BTW, in case you are wondering, I got 2 tail wags, and one piece of food flung at me, Finn disagrees.)

Books! How can one not feel good with a book. By far my two favorite books lately have been (besides Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass because they’re always number one.) are Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Highly recommend for anyone that plays video games, knows the 80’s, and is into science fiction.) and the second one is Princess Bride (because hello, the books are always better than the movies, it’s true, I have a shirt that says so, also I think I read it on the internet and we all know that it must be true then.) Seriously though, everytime I open a book, or fire up the Kindle, I’m taken to another land, meet new people, see new problems, or find new ways to look at things. It’s the best. It makes me forget about my problems, or shows me a way to deal with my problems.

Ok, one more guys, then I’ll have to let you relax for a little, and tell me what your favorite things are, especially for trying to make yourself feel better.

Walking. You’d never think of it, but it is. I will see it as a chore until I do it. Once I do go for a walk, I see how happy the dogs are, and then I feel better.  Again, a calmness comes over me. You never realize it, but it does something to a person that just makes you feel good and feel alive. It’s just a happiness that doesn’t really have a reason to exist, but lets you feel free. It just does.

So what makes you happy? Or calm? What are your favorite things?

3 thoughts on “These are a few

  1. Music every time. I play guitar, write songs and sing very badly… but I love it 😆
    Film, books, blogging and I try to keep fit. Physical health is a primary building block for mental health.
    I’m glad you’re pulling out some positives – really beneficial thinking.
    Peace to you. ROS

    • Thank You! I’m trying to redirect my ways of thinking and trying to be more positive. Be on the lookout for more positive post, after all, I cannot be Eeyore all the time. So annoying to keep loosing the tail and not knowing where it is. Random places.

  2. I can’t understand the pet thing – maybe because I’ve had serious allergies my whole life, and I am not a tea drinker – I’ll choose coffee every time, even in the middle of the night. But as for the rest of your favorite things… creepily familiar. Your comments on art, music, books and walking… every one I could have written myself!

Leave a Reply

