My Life

Every day I start by looking at the dog on my bed and ask him if he’s ready to face the world for the day. While I know I’m asking him, I’m really asking myself. Isn’t that funny? I try to gear how I start the day, by how my dog responds to that question. And most times it’s as if he knows how I feel too. Some days he is ready to go and jumps right off the bed, other times, he needs that extra belly rub to get going. It’s as if he knows that sometimes I just need that extra time to build up my courage to get out of bed. But I know when he jumps off, I need to get up and going since he needs to go out.

Today Alabama Shakes got me motivated to get going. Well besides the fact that I had to attend a class/group session at 1. Hold On is the name of the song, and whilst the singer is saying her name, I insert mine. So when she is saying Come on Brittany. I’m saying Come on Lindsay. But it’s my motivation. It’s telling me that I need to get up and get going, that someone is out there hoping that I’ll hold on and make it through what ever it is that is pulling me down. There is hope. There is something out there for me. Today could be the day that things turn around, so you know what? Hold on, that brighter moment is just around the corner, so hold on girl, you can do this. Get up, get going, because you can make it. Hold on.

What gets you going? What makes you hold on that bit longer than you think you can?

 

Hold On

Alabama Shakes

Bless my heart.
Bless my soul.
Didn’t think I’d make it to 22 years old.
There must be someone up above sayin’
“Come on Brittany, you got to come on up.”
“You got to hold on… ”
“Hey, you got to hold on… “

So, bless my heart and bless yours too.
I don’t know where I’m gonna go
Don’t what what I’m gonna do.
Well, must be somebody up above sayin’
“Come on Brittany, you got to come on up! ”
“You got to hold on… ”
“Hey, you got to hold on… “

“Yeah! You got to wait! ”
“Yeah! You got to wait! ”
But I don’t wanna wait!
No, I don’t wanna wait…

So, bless my heart and Bless my mind.
I got so much to do, I ain’t got much time
So, must be someone up above saying
“Come on girl! You got to get back up! ”
“You got to hold on… ”
“Hey, you got to hold on… “

“Yeah! You got to wait! ”
“Yeah! You got to wait! ”
But I don’t wanna wait!
No, I don’t wanna wait!

“You got to hold on… ”
“You got to hold on… ”
“Got to hold on… ”
“You got to hold on… “

2 thoughts on “My Life

Leave a Reply

