Awareness

Most people acknowledge this month as Breast Cancer Awareness Month, but it’s also the month of a few other awareness’s that are not as well known. Two of them are important to me, but the one, I think should be important to all, as for me, it’s been one of the reasons I’ve gone through depression. October is Bullying Prevention Awareness Month.

I do not think people taking the bullying in schools as serious as it should be taken, and I’m glad that this month is dedicated to trying to reach out to people to educate one another on this. Why? Because it scars one for their life. For me, I have both physical and mental scars from this.  Bullying, whether it’s verbal or physical, hurts and attacks one emotionally as well. I would dread getting up in the mornings for school, because I knew from the moment I got onto that school bus, until the moment I got off of it at the end of the day, the same people would be there all day harassing me.  In middle school it wasn’t physical, but it was constant taunts and teasing.  It was relentless. That’s when my walls started to build. I didn’t want anything to do with anyone else, and I started to cut myself off emotionally from everyone because I didn’t want to deal with it, and didn’t want to feel anymore. (That’s still not my traumatic event btw, that might come at a later date to describe.)

How many kids end up snapping and attacking people, or committing suicide because they cannot take it anymore? There are too many. I still do not know why I was bullied, or as the teachers had said, it was just teasing, but it has effected me for the rest of my  life, and just added to my depression that was recognized later. Why put others through that, why not start educating?

National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)

Oh and in case you wanted to know what the second that is important to me is, October 27th is Pit Bull Awareness day, but many are celebrating this all month long, or in my case, all year round. When I hit a rough time, I was volunteering at an animal shelter and it was the pit bulls there that really brought and showed me so much love despite what they have been through.  They had it worse than I did, and yet they still showed love to people despite how they are treated.  To me, they are the winners everyday and deserve our love, not our prejudice.

Leave a Reply

